User Tag List

Thread: Best way to build a welding/assembly table, or best valued table to buy?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Best way to build a welding/assembly table, or best valued table to buy?

Hi All,

I've been reading through many of the posts within this site and I'm learning quite a bit. I'm just getting started in the frame building game and am looking for tips on the best way to set up the building process. I believe that the best/least expensive way for me to do this would be to use a welding table or something similar in which I can mount the frame tubes together. I've seen a few tables online for around $450 or so minus any table accessories.

I'd love to hear from you all about pros and cons are to doing this, and if you have any tips on small jigs or pieces that will aid in the process.

Thanks in advance!

Brandon Poser

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Best way to build a welding/assembly table, or best valued table to buy?

You can pick up a granite surface plate at auction for next to nothing, or a new import for pretty cheap. You can use v-blocks and shims. Tube blocks from paragon. Or get surface plate fixtures from Alex Meade. Hope this helps a little.

Sam Markovich

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Best way to build a welding/assembly table, or best valued table to buy?

I'm assuming you're using TIG?

My "welding table" is just steel bench legs with a sheet of 1/8" thick steel on top. It is not flat (probably out 1/4-1/2" over 30" depending on the day) but I built a relatively straight frame on it w/out the use of more than welding magnets.

Each tube was coped and checked a few times to make sure I wasn't effing stuff up.
    Then I tacked it in place + took it over to the alignment table. Persuaded it into place.
    The onto the next tube. Repeat.