Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sleeping bag recommendations

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Sleeping bag recommendations

I've been using an EMS 35 degree rated synthetic bag for 10 years now and think I'm finally ready to spend some money on something better. What spurred this is the realization that I can get a bag with the same temperature rating (probably down) but a full pound lighter than what I have now (or if I wanted to spend an incredible sum of money I could get one under a pound).

So this is the challenge, should you choose to accept it:

-Temp rating around 32-35 fahrenheit. Based on my reading about the EN standard this could be the "lower limit" value.
    -Weight of 1-1.5 lbs (500-650 grams or so).
    -Oh and I'm kind of long so need about 75"/188cm of length, which sometimes is a regular and sometimes is a long bag.
    -Preferably hooded, unless you can convince me I don't need a hood, but I dig the coccooned feeling of having one.

If I had all the money in the world I'd just order a Western Mountaineering bag for $300+ but I'm sure that somewhere out there in the land of internet clearance sites and gear messageboards there is a bag waiting for me at less than $200 that meets these criteria.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Sleeping bag recommendations

Check steepandcheep and theclimb.com for some decent deals on last years models.

I'm drooling over one of these: Sierra Designs Bed-Style Sleeping Bags | Backcountry Bed & Quilt
    elysian
    Tom Tolhurst

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)