Thread: First steps in brazing: tools, parts etc

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default First steps in brazing: tools, parts etc

Hi,

Newbie here, so some questions might be dump, hope you will have a patience.

Idea is to learn brazing and I'm looking for equipment for that without breaking a bank... when in the other hand, if it makes sense to buy some better tools for easier work and better result - please point them out, I will consider it.

I read some success stories (mainly on this forum here) brazing with Oxygen+Propane so I'm planing to go that way.

I live in Germany, but I have problem to find torch and other stuff dealer here. May somebody share some links?
    In a meantime, I'm looking at this kit https://www.thewelderswarehouse.com/...azing-Kit.html as it (at least "Light Duty" torch) has some positive feedback. What do you think about it? Is it all I need for the first run?

I'm pretty sure that I need some kind of adapter too to be able connect this kit to propane tanks that are common in Germany, they have this kind of connection:
    gastank.jpg

Now it's up to an Oxygen tank, are there some Germans here who know where I could get one? What are the prices? Thanks

And the last but not least, flux and filler metal - need some help here too, as I don't know any web-shop based in Germany or near by.

My plan is to practice brazing on some steel junk bikes, adding braze-ons on them and trying to connect tubes together. I'm not sure what kind of filler metal would be best for this purpose so an advice is welcome.

That's about it,
    Hope it all makes sense,
    Thanks in advance

Jim Kapo
    Last edited by e-RICHIE; 01-11-2017 at 07:13 PM. Reason: Name added -

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: First steps in brazing: tools, parts etc